16 Comments

I’m currently reading the League Of Seven series be Alan Gratz for the 11th time and just finished it right now. I wish Alan Gratz could make another book for the series, the last book just makes me want so much more to the characters and the story. (Maybe Archie can find love in that book)

Expand full comment

A House with Good Bones is on my TBR, but given it's T. Kingfisher, I'm pretty sure it will be great. Have you checked out What Moves the Dead by the same author? I read it last year and it was really well written and super creepy!

Expand full comment

This weekend it’s mostly about the new Zelda game...I haven’t been gaming much at all lately and since it’s the big new release, I want to be one of the cool kids to play it first. Aside from working tomorrow, that’s pretty much what I will be doing. Possibly supplemented with some Star Trek - we’ve been revisiting random episodes of Voyager mostly, but I’m starting random Enterprise and DS9 episodes, too.

Expand full comment

I have likely commented this on some post of yours before, but The Twisted Ones was quite possibly the creepiest thing I have read in AGES. Like leave the light on to go to sleep creepy. In other words, I adored it. I'll definitely have to check out A House with Good Bones.

Reading: Juniper and Thorn by Ava Reid. At the moment, it's slow going. I think I'm just not in the mood and need to swap over to something else. (I read Wolf and the Woodsman and don't seem to recall the author's abiding love of simile. )

Watching: Patriot (Amazon Prime series from 2015). How did I miss this when it first came out? I'm not even sure I'm following the plot, but it's hilarious enough that it doesn't matter. And also simultaneously melancholy? Hitting the spot.

Also, Eurovision. I'm as surprised as anyone that I enjoy it, but somehow it's incredibly entertaining and always seems to come around when things in my life are incredibly stressful and I need some pure escapist silliness.

Thinking: Being a middle-aged adult with aging parents flat-out sucks. (Hence Eurovision.)

Expand full comment

READING: I just finished ONCE THERE WAS, by Kiyash Monsef - and I'm still... it weirdly reminds me of Markus Zusak's THE BOOK THIEF, with Death as this matter-of-fact narrator. There's no Death here, but the magic exists in the breath and under the skin, alongside the mundane world, and it's just... a meditation on death, among other things. Such a neat book, and it's apparently a MG! I just ...read it. As a book.

Anyway.

Just starting Vivian Shaw's, THE HELIOS SYNDROME. I'm reading it because I LOVE, love, loved her Dr. Greta van Helsing character in the STRANGE PRACTICE series (which might be due a re-read, because, did I mention LOVE???) - I have no idea what it's about, but it's next.

WATCHING: Absolutely nothing, because,

THINKING: I have no bandwidth. This revision is killing me, and that said, I should get back to it. If you hear someone screaming WHYYYYY from the West, know that it is I, and I have done this to myself...

Expand full comment