3 Comments

Reading: Invasion, about the war in Ukraine, by Luke Harding, which is hard to read and I can do about half a chapter before needing to go off and do something else, feeling guilty as I go. I also just finished A Place for Everything, which says it's about the history of developing alphabetization but is in fact just about organazational methods of all kinds. It's quite charming but probably only to librarians. I just got Unmask Alice and am forcing myself to wait until I finish Invasion to start it.

Watching: I may have paid far too much attention to the Lori Vallow trial and then spent a week watching interviews with various jury members, siblings, cousins, and whatnot. Did Maine people even hear about that? Husband and I have been trying to watch Forrest Gump with accompanying audio reaction by a comedian we like (he'd never seen it). But Forrest Gump is TERRIBLE, and also long, and we still have nearly an hour to go. Not sure we'll manage it. So we watch old Night Court episodes instead.

Thinking: I'm in a stitching slump but a reading boom. Just 3 more days before the semester is done and it's summer! Lots about LGBT issues and my church. My brother just sent me a new song he found, and I played Oingo Boingo's Insanity for my youngest and now they're obsessed with it (we are both huge Boingo fans).

Expand full comment

READING: the Ilona Andrews Innkeeper series and am on #4... They're really longish novellas and such a fun, take-you-out-of-this-world series... A parallel, magical Texas inn is very fun and the magical beings are very random... Giant philosophical CHICKENS are some of the current guests, holding a debate...

WATCHING: Chinese Restaurants, a miniseries based on Cheuk Kwan's Have You Eaten Yet? -- it's an old series I started when it came out but am just now finishing because it's armchair travel (which my wistful-but-homebody soul needs), people's personal stories and, of course, all the food.

THINKING: how weird food cycles are... When we moved back from Scotland (where we had a friend who ate her baked "tatties" topped with french fries and crisps, and this is neither joke nor exaggeration) I could NOT with potatoes. All in all, I was fairly sick of all root veg... This lasted about six years, and suddenly it's rebounded and I could literally eat potatoes with every meal, which is wildly abnormal and unnecessary and I was never like this before??? I feel like I'm just going to completely hate them again, because at this rate, haven't I got to??? In the meantime, I guess I'll make home fries. Again.

*shrug*

Expand full comment

I'm about halfway through The Bear and the Nightingale and loving it. Also enjoying Girly Drinks by Mallory O'Meara - I used her book (Lady from the Black Lagoon) as research for my current work-in-progress.

Expand full comment