7 Comments

I'm about to start The Merciless King of Moore High and I'm excited because it sounds like it's going to be a big ol' book of bananas. And I *hope* I'm finishing this grade school musical I agreed to write because I'm a total sucker with an underdeveloped ability to say no. Good luck with the never-ending afghan!

Expand full comment

LOL, I'm going to join you in the 'fallen extremely behind' camp, because I'm several thousand words behind where I should be right now for a novel that's due the end of January... and there's all the holidays and nonsense hoopla in between now and then (plus my NEXT novel coming out, oy) and I cannot simply ignore people and go into a cave and write (ALTHOUGH YOU'D BEST BELIEVE I AM GOING TO USE THAT AS AN EXCUSE FOR ANTI-SOCIALING EVERYTHING). You'll finish your project triumphantly - I suspect the night of the Solstice, but that still counts.

Speaking of holiday hoopla, any Thanksgiving game suggestions you have for family welcome btw; I'm supposed to be getting something "new" for the voracious nephews and niece. (The youngest is fourteen now. Four. Teen. No little kids anymore around.)

BOOKS: I read such a compelling review of Christelle Dabos' A WINTER'S PROMISE, that I picked it up immediately, and Elise Kova's A Trial of Sorcerers as well for this weekend. I just finished Faith Erin Hicks' HOCKEY GIRL LOVES DRAMA BOY, and it was so cute I wanted to crawl inside of it. When I'm drafting I try and avoid book cross pollination, so reading fantasy YA right now is fun. I *should* be knitting hats because I said I'd help with a project, but... feeling lazy. Maybe next week.

Expand full comment

It's a beautiful afghan! My oldest has got one going this year too, and I wonder how that's going....

My day off appears to have become dedicated to boring necessary things like shingles vaccines (reportedly a rough one) and shepherding a kid through a medical procedure. I'm sitting here waiting for it to be over. I read Kingfisher's new title, Thornhedge, last night! It was great!

Expand full comment

That afghan is the coolest. This weekend I grabbed up all the company T-shirts with the old, verboten, logo; cutting them into tote bags, and dyeing them with the walnut dye I made a couple weeks ago. Holiday gifts for my team! Bc christ knows I need another tote bag like I need another ear.

Expand full comment

That afghan is gorgeous! Wow! I’m learning to read tea leaves this weekend because why not.

Expand full comment

My book club is reading War and Peace, and I am WAY behind. Got my work cut put for me. 😄 Your afghan is beautiful.

Expand full comment